It’s Been A Lousy Day. I Need My Bowie Blog.

When I was contributing to this piece of random internet squabble regularly, through much of last year, it was like therapy for me. It helped clear my head of other things. The day would end, I would shove everything else away, and would think about Bowie. And life was good, at least for a bit.

Apparently I’m not the only one who has this reaction to Bowie. Nile Rodgers posted an old picture of him and David on his Facebook page a few days ago, with the caption: “I was feeling a little depressed and ran across this shot and cheered up.” The photo, taken by Peter Gabriel, shows Rodgers and David perched on stools. David has a pretty goofy smile on his face. But goofy Bowie and Nile Rodgers seem to go together somehow.

So today sucked. It was a bad energy day, and as much as the new-age energists will tell you that you have the power to change the energy, sometimes the energy has you beat. Some bad energy days are just bad energy days and you can’t do a lick about that bad energy.

Tonight I did a BuzzFeed quiz on Facebook, “What Is Your High School Stereotype?” My result: The Rebel. I shared the result on my page with the note that it was probably true, although it wouldn’t have been obvious. An old friend, who knew me then and knows me now, left the comment: “Um yeah… it was.” And the whole thing was “liked” by my high school English teacher. What on earth does that mean? Was I a rebel in her eyes, too?

Facebook gave me three “suggested videos” after that post: Pee-Wee Herman, Freaks and Geeks, and David Bowie – performing Rebel Rebel. Since Facebook has that nifty and creepy ability to surf through your history and know what you are looking at online, the Bowie result isn’t that surprising. It’s almost predictable. The other two, I’ve no idea.

But this result is kind of ironic, coming today, in this bad energy day where I can’t seem to escape patterns. And the patterns go way, way, back, and I saw it for the first time today, that there is this karmic thing going on – I keep putting myself here, in this circumstance that no one besides me would see as a circumstance but I know is a circumstance – so I resolve, finally, to figure out what the f— is going on there. I’ll talk to the spirits maybe, or just sleep on it. But I will analyze it, tomorrow, when the bad energy moves somewhere else or disperses into neutrality.

The caption for “The Rebel” on the BuzzFeed quiz was the following: “You are a wild one! You play by your own rules and there’s no one else quite like you. You do what you want, when you want it, and how you want it, and nobody can tell you otherwise. You learn most things the hard way, but once that lesson is learned, you will never forget it. Lead the way!”

Yes, I do learn most things the hard way.

Lead the way? Hard since I don’t know where I am going.

To make me happy, here’s a Bowie interview from 2002. Until tonight, I’d never seen it before. It seriously lifted my mood. Thanks for existing Bowie, and giving me content to post on this, my 100th entry onto this blog.

